Samples of Fall: The Sacred Blacksmith

Flaming Katana

Like most fantasy series, a strong start…

Impressions

But one thing I’ve noticed, shows in that genre have a linear plot. I’m not sure if it’s because characters have to “level up” and viewers wind up watching them grind. Either way, after a few episodes, I lose interest. However, I’m a bit more optimistic about this one since the main characters, Luke and Cecily, catch my interest.

A little girl

Smack

Looking at Luke, I’m sure I’m not the only one who thinks of Bakumatsu Kikansetsu Irohanihoheto‘s Akizuki Yojiro. They’re both extremely skilled swordsmen who use the katana. As for Cecily, she’s eerily similar to Misaka Mikoto, right down to how they act when embarrassed.

Clumsy Knight

What a knight you are

As for the episode itself, clean animation and good art. For now, the plot’s relatively simple. Cecily wants to do her duty as a knight, protecting the townspeople no matter what the dangers are. Despite his skills, Luke doesn’t want to help due to unknown personal reasons. Finally, Lisa is the cute, innocent loli who creates a magical forge for Luke. My favorite part was Cecily’s unknowing confession. That and how her armor became transparent and pink sparkles appear.

Look at me

I want you to take a look at me

Surprise

Ah yes, she used to be a little girl. Now she’s all grown up… Nothing to be embarrassed about.

You've got it all wrong

Boring Man

How kind of you

Overall, on a scale from 1 (worst) to 10 (best), I would give this a 7. Certainly above average when comparing it to other series but nothing all too impressive. There is potential but I’m holding back due to past experience with fantasy shows.

6 Responses

  1. Hmm…. It is interesting how the same words can sound so different, depending on the focus :P

    Maid + Knight = Quality? :P

  2. It’s only the headpiece. Now if she had the pure white apron over a black dress, that would change my ratings… dramatically.

  3. LOOOL.. if we get a meido Cecily XD Girl has super naive character, but I was amused anyhow. and yea, Luke’s design and swordskill is so Akiyuki. Though he isn’t as refined/mature. Growth is good.

  4. Gah, now if only Cecily wasn’t so useless… >_<

  5. @RyanA
    Waiting for more mad sword skills… and fancy footwork!

    @Snark
    That won’t happen for a while.

  6. dude when you gonna post more pics of that chicks boobs man i got an erectoin and nothing to do with it :|

Leave a Reply

