Settling Down with Spring

I feel the same Horo!

So many epic faces from Horo, capturing my feelings about this anime season.

It was only one or two seasons ago when I started judging shows before they even aired. Before then, I would watch new series without being picky about details, whether they be the animation studio or certain voice actors/actresses. If it came out, it was fair game.

Then I started to hone in on what I like and filter out shows that seemed “below average”. The reason? Simple, I don’t have enough time to watch everything. The only exception is when maids are involved (Chrome Haired Felli Shelled Regios)… or some other notable development that makes me forgive its faults.

That being said, this season reversed my initial expectations in nearly every show.

Natsu no Arashi!

Meido!

SHAFT. Maids. That should be enough in making me a weekly slave to this show right? Nope!

Having read the first few chapters of the manga, the story seemed interesting with plenty of potential. I had high hopes and intended to blog regularly about this. However, the translation into anime didn’t go so well. Very lackluster. I still have faith in both the studio and the series, but this is slated for future marathoning. Probably in the summer, which coincidentally matches with its theme.

Shangri-la

Kuniko sucks!

Range Murata. I loved his work in Last Exile and Blue Submarine No. 6. His artwork was the reason for my hype prior to airing. I almost ignored the fact that GONZO‘s animating this. Key word: Almost.

It turns out that Kuniko is one of the most retardedly naive characters I’ve ever stumbled upon. Other than the dual eye-colored killer loli, there’s nothing about this that seemed worthwhile. Dropping this. Most likely permanently unless more delicious but less stupid characters appear.

Asura Cryin’

Shuri!

At first, I wondered if I should try this series out. There wasn’t too much background and very few people looked forward to this. Its popularity might be the same but I’m most certainly enjoying it.

Shuri is topless...

Between the mature beauty Shuri, cute ghost Misao, and miko demon Kanade… ARGH! I CANNOT CHOOSE. Topless amnesiac Shuri in the most recent episode was almost too much to bear. Excellent characters to adore and an interesting plot. Mecha! Action! Fanservice! What more could I ask for?

Hatsukoi Limited

Hatsukoi Limited

I’ve been a huge fan of the manga series and upon seeing the first episode, I just had to reread it all over again. Despite my intense dislike for J.C. Staff works, this adaptation looks good. Yet, I withholding final judgment until my favorite character, Dobashi, takes center stage.

Dobashi!

This is probably the only release that matched initial expectations.

K-ON!

How I wish it was like...

I wanted to break free of Kyoto Animation with their adorable characters. I tried so hard… but my efforts were in vain. Mio~

Sengoku Basara

MANLY!

Of all the series, this one surpassed my wildest expectations. At the start, I purposely ignored it since the summary seemed dull. Something about Japanese history. Moreover, it was a game adaptation and most of them flop after an impressive start. Now, this is probably the most sought-after release.

Valkyria Chronicles

Valkyria Chronicles

Same deal with Sengoku Basara. The part about being a game adaptation scared me at first. Then it began to win me over with Alicia’s charm. It could still flop with the battle scenes but I’m being optimistic… for now.

Eden of the East

Eden of the East

Honestly, I’m still on the fence about this one. The mystery and suspense is there but the Honey and Clover character style is throwing me off. Other than that, I’ll keep watching it for the awesome ED.

Guin Saga

RAWR?

Pushed back for summer marathoning. Lack of time and this one didn’t make the cut.

Pandora Hearts

Alice!

Also pushed back til summer. However, Alice in B-Rabbit mode might be enough to prioritize it.

Basquash!

I heard that the same people who did Macross Frontier, which I found average, is also working for this mecha basketball series. No incentive especially after watching Miyuki’s emergency flotation devices bounce around in the first episode. Dropped for good.

Hayate no Gotoku!! Second Season

I’m regularly keeping up with the manga. Unfortunately, the anime wasn’t impressive enough to make me cross the threshold. Sure, there are maids but they’re epic in any medium.

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Similar to Hayate no Gotoku!! Second Season, I’m more inclined to follow the manga. Actually, this new version seems worse. Quick pacing to rush through initial material is also a setup for disaster. I’m content to observe this from the sidelines.

Spice and Wolf 2 OVA

Sadly enough, I almost forgot about this one. This wonderful world with an apple-obsessed wolf god!

Troublesome Dinner

THAT HAT!

Lawrence and Horo had dinner with Nola. Of course, when he started paying more attention to the shepherdess, his traveling companion got a bit jealous. Also, I would like to note that Horo now holds the (anime) world record for maintaining the longest facepalm.

Jealous!

How could you resist?!

At the end of dinner, Horo collapses. She woke up later in a bedroom and mused about her feelings for Lawrence. She fell back to sleep, having dreams about choosing between him and her true ancestors.

I stare at joo!

SERIOUS HORO!!

All in all, a very cute episode with plenty of Horo service. Praise the wolf god!

OH GAWD

SO MOE I DIED!!!

*If anything is missing here from Spring 2009, I’m probably not keeping up with it.

Overall Status

Regular
Asura Cryin’
Eden of the East
Hatsukoi Limited
K-ON!
Sengoku Basara
Spice and Wolf 2 OVA
Valkyria Chroncles

Queued for Later
Guin Saga
Pandora Hearts

Dropped
Basquash!
Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood
Hayate no Gotoku!! Second Season
Natsu no Arashi!
Shangri-la

So, what are your impressions about Spring 2009?

4 Responses

  1. Ah, I should write a post like this. Anyhoo, loool the Valkyria action is so bad (in concept), but it turns out rather humorous. Pandora Hearts, I’m interested, but the airing quality was killing me. I’m going to wait it out for some better quality, and possibly wide-screen video.

    Basquatch dropped, well, Miyuki’s boobs are like whoa, but Sela’s M-ness is pretty great.

  2. Yea, I’m not too good with regular episodic coverage like Random Curiosity or Kurogane. I rather blog about things that spike my interest or summing stuff up. In this case, the latter. Easier and less time-consuming.

    Valkyria is turn-based action, which is difficult to pull off in any setting other than a game. So far, it’s been decent but there’s that constant fear of alienating non-storyline characters. They’ve been doing with my favorite character, the first female sniper you get. “The hunt begins.”

  3. Otter, I hear Felli is your waifu.

  4. I could only wish. Sadly, I didn’t discover how awesome she is til late in the season. I believe others have staked her out long before I could do so. FORTUNATELY, there are others who are just as worthy :)

Leave a Reply

