Spring 2009 Music Appreciation

Music!

Taking a short break from reviews, I would like to go over what I consider to be one of the most important part of any series… The openings and endings.

FFVIIKnight’s Picks

Favorite OP

Series: Asura Cryin’
Title: Spiral
Artist: angela

With all the new shows, none of their OPs really stuck out to me. Shangri-la looked amazing but the May’n song was lackluster. Phantom had it the other way around, a fitting song but mismatched visuals. Everything (but a select few) was in between…

Yet, as I go over them again, there was only one that emerged above the fray. The combination of angela‘s rich powerful vocals and gear-themed character introductions made Asuri Cryin’ rise above the rest of the crowd. Though not the best in either song or animation, it ranks first when taking both into consideration.

Favorite ED

Series: Eden of the East
Title: Futuristic Imagination
Artist: School Food Punishment

A catchy song combined with a very innovative style of animation. I cannot put into words how impressed I am with the paper art, transforming from characters to missiles to (my personal favorite) explosions.

Honorable Mentions

Series: Sengoku Basara
Title: JAP
Artist: abingdon boys school

I think it speaks for itself. I see Basara as the best action anime of this season and its OP definitely reflects that. And if that isn’t enough, this is just as impressive.

Series: K-ON!
Title: Don’t say ‘Lazy’
Artist:
Hikasa with Toyosaki, Satō and Kotobuki

Ah. I couldn’t resist the Mio. Shame on me.

4 Responses

  1. Yes, I don’t recall that stop motion animation with paper seen in the EoE ED was used previously in anime. The song was nice.

    Basara OP is just too funny :P

    haha Mio does some weird expressions with her eyes :P Also note that Tsumugi is almost Tsugumi :P I liked both OP and ED songs in K-ON :)

  2. Eden ED is really clever and artistic, the OP is fashionable with some modern designs as well. H+C used stop motion clay or fruit or something in a similar fashion.

    I have trouble watching MioK-ON! ED, ready to burst into kira-kira explosion!

  3. Oops, initially had info about the PS2 intro song rather than the anime one for Basara. Fixed now.

    @Kitsune
    Dancing soldiers? Silly stuff but so fitting. Tsumugi had that crazy ball hairstyle and lacking the blush that makes Tsugumi all too adorable.

    @Ryan A
    I never got to finish H+C anime. I forgot how far I got in its manga… As for the K-ON!, Ritsu is also nice… but her serious look here really contrasts with her true personality.

  4. Yui holds the jpop end down: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNcTVuwImNM
    But the FMA ending should still be : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IGa47nq6Sk&feature=related
    Just as DBK should have: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG3NXDWm3uE

    I could not find a link to the Valkyria ED so…DMC wins again this season: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRKhMTeo_ew

    That is all.

Leave a Reply

