The Times They Are A-Changin

Space Ghost
Hello Everyone!

I have arrived at Kokuun! I was either a random evolution of events or fate that brought me here today. You can refer to me as Kaki, short of my typical handle of Kakihara.


About me:
Age: Similar to ffviiknight
Gender: ???
Occupation: Student
Location: MD, USA
Blood type: ????
Special moves: ????

I seek the most unique in whatever medium I’m enjoying. It’s natural for me to do so. Why don’t I care about Air, Naruto fanfics or reality TV shows? Well, there is no shortage of these and most of these are low quality and pointless. You could toss all those tens of thousands of fanfics in a bucket and it wouldn’t matter which one you pulled out. Unique and excellent things are rare. It takes a superior amount of resources and risk to produce such works. It takes more work to create something more complex. Ordinary works can sloppily cut and past from what has proven sufficient before. When a studio takes a risk, and pools it’s resources to create something even a bit unique, odds are it will be great.

At this time I will also mention the issue of tolerance. I think that like many others, I have used anime and other forms of fiction as a drug-a form of escaping current stresses like drinking, smoking or gambling. I feel that anime is a drug that produces tolerance. This is key. Tolerance is the condition that may follow repeated consumption of a drug such that the effect produced by the original dose no longer occurs. Thus, I can only give top honors to a title that evokes some feeling in me, and that is an increasingly difficult thing to do. Do not take this to mean that I think anime is merely a form of escapism and that it only serves a drug-like function. I plan to blog about this topic later.

vlcsnap-1716249
Face I make in reaction to more and more anime as a result of tolerance to mediocrity.

Other random fact: I do not stream my anime-I’m a collector. Since about 2001, I wanted to own all the DVDs I could. That is a goal that will be forever financially thwarted. Yet, the internet gave me new hope, and I continue to download by the gig. So, I’ll probably do a good bit of looking back as well as examining current shows.

Here I am to give Kokuun the old 1000 HORN EXTENSIONS OF DEATH!

vlcsnap-816539
Please do not express your extreme pleasure about this news in the comments.

The line it is drawn
The curse it is cast
The slow one now
Will later be fast
As the present now
Will later be past
The order is
Rapidly fadin’.
And the first one now
Will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’.

3 Responses

  1. Welcome aboard Sir! :)

  2. Hi, Kaki :)

    What are you favorite anime?

  3. I don’t really like anime, but these are what came to mind:

    Skip Beat, it’s nice to see such a refreshing shoujo. It’s not filled with cliches every few minutes and that is refreshing. The humor is just as original and always on point.

    Naruto. The pacing is not as good as DBZ, but the fights are far better most of the time. It also saves the pacing by adding fillers that are unpopular around the net, but I think some are rather clever and take opportunities to explore situations that would never see the light of day otherwise. They really expand the whole naruto universe. Also, Ninjas are really hip and foreign just like anime itself.

    Initial D, Rideback, Vandred, ect. Aside from their own merits they have amazing CG animation that blends in with the digital cel animation smooth as water and alcohol. Just shows that Japan has come a long way since the helicopter in the original Golgo.

    MD Geist. They just don’t make them like that anymore.

    Inuyasha too bad it didn’t get to continue until it got a proper ending.

    Futakoi makes me proud to be an anime fan.

    Lucky Star, Torodora, Azumanga Daiho. Great shows that deserve their popularity. Slice of life and Laugh out Loud funny moments every episode!

    I sometimes like an exiting sports anime, so I reach for an episode of Whistle! or Major.

    You can expect many posts in the future about my favorite anime and what I look for when I criticize anime.

Leave a Reply

