Otakon 2008 – Day 2

Photobucket

Finally finished with this post…

IMPORTANT NOTE #1:
All of the following pictures were taken with permission from the cosplayer(s). If by any means you feel offended by the results of my horrible camera skills and wish for your picture to be removed, please leave a private message and I will remove it ASAP.

IMPORTANT NOTE #2:
The following cosplayers may not be supermodels or the like… but they definitely have more guts and passion than I do since they cosplayed… and I didn’t.

IMPORTANT NOTE #3:
I sorta give up at tagging. I fail in that part. If I’m wrong, correct me.

Photobucket

Rin Tosaka from Fate/Stay Night

Photobucket

Zero from Code Geass

Photobucket

Touhou!!! <3

Photobucket

Cloud + Scorpion from Kingdom Hearts and Mortal Combat

Photobucket

Zelda from… Zelda

Photobucket

KlanKlan from Macross Frontier

Photobucket

Keiichi and Satoko from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Photobucket

Tonberry (Final Fantasy VII) and Shiva (Final Fantasy XII Revenant Wings)

Photobucket

Suzaku and C.C. from Code Geass R2

Photobucket

Avatar: the Last Air Bender

Photobucket

Something… I don’t know…

Photobucket

Team Fortress 2 Engineers… RAGE!!!

Photobucket

Another… something… but very popular!

Photobucket

Vocaloid

Photobucket

Pac-Man family

Photobucket

Katamari

Photobucket

300 pit re-enactment

Photobucket

I think from Batman… but SUPER popular (for obvious reasons)

Photobucket

Gurren Lagann feature

Photobucket

Ouran High School Host Club

Photobucket

Bleach girls

Photobucket

Kingdom Hearts love

Photobucket

Cloud vs. Sephiroth in Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

Photobucket

Zabimaru Bankai from Bleach

Photobucket

Bender from Futurama

Photobucket

Nyuu from Elfen Lied

Photobucket

Kallen (<3) from Code Geass R2

Photobucket

Yukari “Caroline” Hayasaka from Paradise Kiss

Photobucket

Medicine Seller from Mononoke and 3rd arc of Ayakashi ~Classic Japanese Horror~

Photobucket

A Shinsengumi

Photobucket

Reki from Haibane Renmei

Photobucket

Nurse Joker from Batman

Photobucket

Another something I don’t know but it looks cool (Clover possibly?)…

Photobucket

Dr. Stein from Soul Eater

Photobucket

C.C. from Code Geass

Photobucket

Group cosplay from… something…

Photobucket

Gurren Lagann couple

Photobucket

This is…

Photobucket

Sushi Boy!

Photobucket

Kiyoshi warriors from Avatar: The Last Airbender

Photobucket

Something “Awesome” from a gutsy Claymore fan

Photobucket

Silent Hill… and something?

Photobucket

Vincent Law from Ergo Proxy

Photobucket

Sailor Moon group whose rest I interrupted (Sorry!)

Photobucket

More Mortal Combat

Photobucket

Darth Vader vs. Hard Gay (HG won :\)

Impressions

Hopefully, more than double the number of images I’ve taken on Day 1 will appease my readers. As you could probably see from my last couple images, most were taken around the same lobby area. Most were on the 2nd floor where my group decided to rest a bit. Two of my friends managed to fall asleep against a rock wall (not comfy) but were rudely awakened by the Hard Gay cosplayer who decided that it was necessary to scream and pump his butt into my face.

I also attended the screening of ADVision’s licensed but not in distribution anymore…. 5 Centimeters per Second. Sadly, it was shown dubbed and had lots of booing from the viewers when the video manager made that choice. Besides spending around two hours in the theatre, I spent most of the day at the Dealer Room browsing through the merchandise. It also happened to be where I got most of the pictures from since most, if not all, attendees go there. At the booths, I saw some Code Geass merchandise and was sorely tempted to buy a wall scroll. However, I beat my impulse shopping instinct and continued my search for Hoshi no Koe manga… which proved fruitless.

Overall, definitely more variety on this day. There was a really good Range Murata duo but the two girls were too busy to pose for me. Sadly, I didn’t bump into them for the rest of the day. I also picked up my second figurine (also of Ayanami Rei from Evangelion). Upon returning to my friend’s house where I slept over, I sort of joked with his younger sister that the figurines were my “waifus”. She started avoiding me since then, calling me “creepy”.

orz

22 Responses

  1. So have you bought any? (:

  2. None. I did browse Media Blaster’s selection of hentai/yaoi/yuri. My friends and I were thinking about getting one as a gag gift for a very conservative friend. However, I do have a yuri bag and poster from the Aurora booth. Those people were very helpful and kind, even offering the said bags for free when I showed up with my arms full :)

  3. Oh wow, really great pictures! :D Thank you for all your hard work!

    Here is what I liked the most:

    Zelda looks so happy! lol

    Kuran Kuran <3

    Tonberry + Shiva are awesome! :D

    Nice Kingdom Hearts hair!

    I spotted some older people among the cosplayers, which is nice.

    So… did you give all those people you took picture of a card with the address of your website? :P

  4. Are the photos added later because I only saw the “Got Hentai” picture when I read this thread earlier. I think the cosplay of Nurse Joker Batman looks so real. Omg! Creepy.

    I wish I was there, looks fun and exciting. Not to mention the hentai/yaoi/yuri hurl that’s available. >.>” Singapore is just too conservative for all those stuff. I’m even having problems looking for non-main stream manga.

  5. Singapore may be conservative on the surface, but people do look for that stuff online. Type ecchi into Google Insights :P

  6. @Hynavian
    Yes, the combination of the image size and my slow home connection equates to very slow uploads. Since I didn’t want to starve people from Otakon 2008 pictures, I decided to post little by little. I was hoping that my XX % done would help but I guess it’s too small.

    @Kitsune
    My favorites for this day were… Kallen, Dr. Stein, KlanKlan (or KuranKuran), Medicine Seller, Rin Tosaka, Touhou girls, and Shiva+Tonberry.

  7. I’ve been looking for pictures of my Shugo Chara group. Oh well, I’ll keep looking. Nice pics. ^__^

    The giant blue dress is from Paradise Kiss and the girl with the pretty mechanical-looking white/gold wing is from Clover.

  8. And not one bad cosplayer in sight! I kinda facepalmed at PacMan though.

  9. Great pics! I haven’t gotten all mine yet, but it seems like we were in different parts of the con. There was a fantastic Saber from FSN… I think I have a pic & video.

    Also, just wanted to post to say that the green group you don’t recognize are the Kiyoshi Warriors from Avatar: The Last Airbender.

  10. @Emi and Symber
    Thanks for the help in tagging them.

    By the way Emi, do you have an ID on the Clover character? I’ll like to have 100% verification.

    Symber, I’ll be looking forward to your video and pictures. Please share! :)

  11. The Tonberry is from FFVII, but the Shiva is from Final Fantasy XII Revenant Wings. The body paint took three-four hours to complete.

    And yes, it is indeed Shiva. =]

  12. @Sago,
    Woah! A real honor to have one of the cosplayers visit my site! :)

    Sorry that I was mistaken with the Shiva origin. It’s been corrected and fixed. Though I haven’t actually played FF-XII: Revenant Wings, I thought your cosplay was of high quality (contrary to your own posts ^_^; )

  13. haha sorry for rudely waking you.

  14. It’s ok… Kind of enriched my first Otakon experience… sorta…

  15. XD nah, I’m just an ordinary girl (and the Tonberry is an ordinary asshole =P), promise! And thank you =] Hopefully, I’ll be doing Black Rose from .hack//SIGN next year… we’ll see how tan I get *laughs*


    Speaking of .hack//SIGN, this picture:

    is actually Mireille, not Link, from .hack//Legend of Twilight (or Minstral, from the .hack//games and .hack//XXXX)~
    http://dothack.wikia.com/wiki/Mistral

    Again, thanks for all the compliments everyone =]

  16. Wow, lovely you caught a picture of me. I was randomly searching for pictures from Otakon (Late I know) and came across the page. Thanks!

    Btw: I was the Kallen.

  17. :D

    Thanks for letting me take a picture of you! Hope to see you at the next Otakon (or Katsucon if I go there) :)

  18. Heeey!~ I was that Satoko! xD
    I look really tired in that picture!
    Thanks for posting this.
    I’ve just started searching for pictures of me again.
    (The Keiichi was my brother, by the way.)\
    Thanks again!~

  19. Ah. Thanks for the pose and sorry that I caught you two at the dealer room. You two were probably busy and trying to find a haven down there while shopping for goodies :)

    Hope to see you again next year.

  20. the guy u labeled as “a shinsengumi” is actually Sojiro the Tenken from Rurouni Kenshin, Shishio’s right hand man.

    an d the first “something i don’t know” is a digimon, pretty sure it was the evolved form of the girl in season 5 “Digimon Frontier” (english: Digimon 4).

    great Kallen and Franken Stien, both fav chars of mine, and that Zabimaru was rediculously impressive.

  21. konnitiwa!!

  22. The subsequent time I read a web-site, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have some thing fascinating to say. All I hear is often a bunch of whining about some thing that you simply could fix in the event you werent too busy looking for attention.

Leave a Reply

