Eve no Jikan – Episode 1

Photobucket
Caught me… hook, line, and sinker

Wait! Android gals shooting off cute yellow stars when they wink?
WHAT’S WRONG WITH THAT?!

Brief Summary

(words pending)

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

Impressions

Besides that special wink from Nagi (first image), the series has many other good points. It’s very provocative as it explores the difference between an android and a human. Even though they look the same on the outside, there’s differences within… but does that make them any less human?

While tracking down the strange movement of Rikou’s family robot, he and Masaki discovered a café where both sides are treated equal. There’s no requirement for androids to keep their distinguishing ring and talk of it is prohibited. As the boys found out, what they see with their own eyes… may not always be the truth. They were quite surprised upon discovering that Akiko wasn’t a dore-kei… but an android herself!

To a degree, this reminds me of an work called Mizu no Kotoba. Maybe it’s just the laid back setting, despite how the rules of the café seem to violate several laws. So it’s very brainy but at the same time, it’s presented in a very simple fashion. There’s nothing too complicated… just Rikou discovering humanity in non-humans.

Overall, a very intriguing series that already won my support. The “star wink” was just a bonus… really!

NOTE:
Is it me or does Rikuo’s sister (last image) look a bit like Rin Tosaka from Fate/Stay Night?

7 Responses

  1. It seems that the director of Eve no Jikan is the same one for Mizu no Kotoba. Oh, yeah, and this show is fantastic.

  2. It looks very promising, I’ll have to check it out!

  3. Is that some (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆?

  4. IMO, this could be the best anime ever made. It has the making of a masterpiece…

  5. I agree… but I don’t understand Japanese so I’m just bumming around for a sub :(

  6. Yay, I finally watched this and second episode and posted screenshots! I like some of the voice actors, but director is clearly green. Backgrounds look nice though.

    I guess that is one of the characteristics of starting animators: they have wonderful backgrounds, but relatively generic humans. I guess that is because it is much more difficult to become proficient at drawing human form.

    Overall, I like the visuals of this anime and, probably, will keep blogging about it.

    Crunchyroll has official agreement iwth producers of the show, so you can watch it there with subs.

  7. Yea, I saw that uploaded there and looked into it. I guess some of the more daring producers are making changes to the typical stance to fansubs. I still like Eve no Jikan since it’s intriguing and paced well (I enjoy its slow pace).

    I would keep blogging if I wasn’t so bogged down with work -.-.

Leave a Reply

