She and Her Cat

Photobucket
Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko

A Makoto Shinkai masterpiece about the life of a cat and its owner…

Brief Summary

NOTE:
While I could summarize the five-minute animation with plenty of words, it would not do the work justice. This is one of those anime where describing it is truly impossible and only by watching it could the full effects be felt. However, screenshots will still be provided.

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

x x x

Photobucket

Impressions

For a simple tale that’s so short, it is surprisingly emotional… but not in the sense of drama or romance. Like other works by this amazing director, human emotions are the central theme, even if the perspective is that of a cat. Loneliness and sadness…. especially with the latter half when the girl gets the call… Overwhelming when her hands reach up, hoping for someone to save her… However, the ending was happy, in a sense. I suppose the moral is that life moves on, just like how Chobi got together with Mimi even though he’s still in love with his master.

Was I moved to tears by this? Sometimes but I’ll always be smiling when it happens. That’s just the magic of Shinkai I suppose.

Drawing from this…

Most people have heard or seen Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~Natsu no Sora~ that was released this summer. While the general reception from the blogsphere seems positive, I feel otherwise.

The background “animation” failed to impress me. While other people are amazed by the real life pictures that’s slapped behind animated characters, I feel like I’m watching a Japanese tour video instead of real anime. It’s undeniable that there is some animation going on but I feel that it’s only one step away from being a live action. The only things missing are the actors/actresses and special effects whenever magic is evoked.

Which brings this back to She and Her Cat. Undoubtedly, most of the scenes are based off of real life shots. However, Makoto Shinkai did not merely leave them be like Mahou Tsukai ~Natsu no Sora~ did. He modified it in a way that made it look animated… but keep the realisitc feel. If the new show would follow similar techniques, without a doubt, I would appreciate it more and it would be the second summer series that I’m faithfully following. As of now, only Xam’d Lost Memories holds that spot.

7 Responses

  1. Recently there’s those series on animals, one of them would be 10 Promises to my dog (J movie), and I think they can be touching yet sad. >.< I’ll try “She and Her cat” when I have the time. (:

  2. Ah, “She and Her Cat”. I got this bundled together with my copy of “Voice of A Distant Star”. Amazingly good film, which just showcases the talent that Makoto has.

  3. The cat is so ADORABLE!

  4. @Hynavian
    Should be pretty easy to find 5 minutes of free time :)

    @Stifler
    Same here! Voices of a Distant Star is my favorite anime and I plan on blog on that in the near future.

    @blissmo
    Chobi (the cat) also shows up in 5 Centimeters per Second, Makoto Shinkai’s most recent work.

  5. That is the laziest drawn cat I’ve seen outside Lucky Star, but boy was this animation short amazing.

  6. But it’s a cute cat!

  7. Indeed, this is a good film :)

    People get lazy and might drop the quality of their art when they have fame and money. Minimalistic design does not imply laziness. Through the analysis of the context and the message, the purpose of such a design can become apparent.

Leave a Reply

