Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~Natsu no Sora~

One of the few summer releases that I’ve been looking forward to. Unfortunately, I had mixed feelings after watching it.

Question

The OP linked above has the same style as the series itself, with animated parts superimposed on a (mostly) untouched real background. Even though I was able to tolerate it and adapt to it by the time the episode ended, I have to wonder…

Can this be considered “true” anime or is it another stab at artistic creativism?

One Response

  1. I think it is an anime because anime can be defined as animation originating from Japan. However, I have some issues with it.

    This anime was one of the few Summer shows I wanted to check out. I was surprised by the realistic backgrounds. While I commend the creators for blending realistic photos and animation, I feel it does not quite fit.

    Animation is a special medium that has a very special ambiance to it. Some stories that would look good on film would not translate well into animation and vice versa. It is this warm light animation emits that I enjoy the most. I would prefer backgrounds by Kazuo Oga (Background/Art Direction for major Ghibli works) to those featured in Mahou Tsukai.

    Here is a somewhat different non-anime example of paintings coming to life:

Leave a Reply

